About Us

Our history

The Research Group on Extrapyramidal Diseases of the World Federation of Neurology (WFN) was founded by Melvin D. Yahr at the first World Congress on Parkinson’s disease in 1959, two years after the WFN was constituted. When the Research Group structured its organization in 1972 Melvin became Chair, and under his leadership this became the most active Research Groups of the WFN.

In 2001 Donald B. Calne took over as Chair. During his term several innovations were introduced. A lectureship was established to honor the contributions of Dr. Yahr, the group was renamed Research Group on Parkinsonism and Related Disorders, and the journal Parkinsonism and Related Disorders became its official publication.

In Amsterdam in 2007, Erik Ch. Wolters was elected new Chair, replacing Donald Calne. Under his leadership, the group remained active as an WFN branch until 2009, when it was established as a non-profit organization based in The Netherlands with the name of World Federation of Neurology Association of Parkinsonism and Related Disorders (WFN-APRD). Official by-laws were adopted in December 2009 in Miami Beach and, during the annual meeting in November 2010 (Glasgow) the complete Executive Board was composed of a President (Erik Wolters), Treasurer (Zbigniew Wszolek), Secretary (Ryan Uitti), and two Councilors (Angelo Antonini and Jon Stoessl).

In 2015 Daniel Truong started his 4-year term as President followed by a second term in 2019. In 2019, he launched a second affiliated journal: Clinical Parkinsonism and Related Disorders. In 2022, the Association was incorporated in the state of California under the name International Association of Parkinsonism and Related Disorders (IAPRD).

Alberto Albanese started his term as President in 2023.

By tradition, the WFN Research Group and later the Association included the most experienced and knowledgeable experts in the field. Any clinician and scientist who adheres to the IAPRD mission can become a member.

The IAPRD is a value driven scientific association with the purpose to promote research into and advance knowledge of Parkinson’s disease and other movement disorders, such as stimulating research, providing educational activities, and collecting funds for such purposes. The IAPRD actively collaborates with other associations and foundations that have similar goals.

Our Presidents


Melvin D. Yahr



Donald B. Calne



Erik Ch. Wolters



Daniel Truong



Alberto Albanese


Our Editors-in-Chief

Parkinsonism and Related Disorders

  • Donald B. Calne (1986-2008)
  • Ronald F. Pfeiffer and Zbigniew K. Wszolek (2008-2017)
  • Vincenzo Bonifati and Hubert H. Fernandez (2018-2022)
  • Hubert H. Fernandez (2022-present)

Clinical Parkinsonism and Related Disorders

  • Huifang Shang and Daniel Truong (2019-present)
Donald B. Calne
Ronald F. Pfeiffer
Zbigniew K. Wszolek
Vincenzo Bonifati
Hubert H. Fernandez
Huifang Shang
Daniel Truong